November 20, 2015

The past weeks have been a busy time for 379 (County of Ross) Squadron.

The Alness Air Cadets held their Annual Dining In and Awards Night at the Ardross Alness Bowling Club. This event was to thank the Cadets for all their hard work over the year and to hand out awards and trophies.

The winners were:

Cadets Jasmine Williams, Jade Crosbie and Rhys Feachem who were promoted to the rank of Corporal.

Cadet Lex Whittenham was presented with a certificate for being Character of the Year.

Cadet Corporal Rhys Feachem received the Most Improved Cadet Award.

Cadet Sergeant Drew Mackay received the trophy for the Best Male of the Year.

Cadet Corporal Evan Swart was presented with the runner-up for the Cadet of the Year.

Newly-promoted Cadet Corporal Jade Crosbie was presented with the Best Female of the Year and the overall Best Cadet of the Year.

The Squadron presented a brand new Cadet of the Year Trophy this year. It has been named The Bill Taylor Trophy in remembrance of the late Bill Taylor who was the very first Commanding Officer of 379 (County of Ross) Squadron when it was formed in 1981. The Squadron was honoured to have Mrs Nessie Taylor present this new trophy to Corporal Crosbie.

Thanks to the following organisations who donated prizes for a raffle: Station Hotel, Alness; Easter Ross Vets; Kens Garage, Kildary; Mrs Caroline Swart; Asda, Tain; and parents and staff of the Squadron.

The Squadron would also like to thank all at Ardross Bowling Club for the use of their fantastic facility and also to Tomich Restaurant for providing a wonderful buffet.