Organisations strike silver

December 9, 2015

Highland and Lowland Reserve Forces’ and Cadets’ Association were at Edinburgh Castle’s Great Hall on December 3 for the Defence Employer Recognition Scheme (ERS) Silver Awards dinner. 

The prestigious event recognised the commitment of employers who have demonstrated or advocated support to defence and the Armed Forces community.

The awards were announced by the Chief Executive of Highland RFCA, Brigadier Mark Dodson, and presented by Major General John Crackett, the Assistant Chief of Defence Staff (Reserves and Cadets).

Following the awards, the Assistant Chief of the Defence Staff spoke to the audience on behalf of The Secretary of State for Defence.

As part of the evening two Reservists also delivered speeches explaining how Reserve service had benefitted them. In addition, the audience heard from employer Hewlett Packard. The company has a unique relationship with 32 Signal Regiment, as both organisations have identified common ground in the personnel they are keen to attract and are now working to help each other.

Thanks from both Highland and Lowland RFCAs go to Maj Gen Mike Riddle-Webster, the Governor of Edinburgh Castle, for allowing the awards to be held in the fine surroundings of the Great Hall.

Recipients of the award were: Dawnfresh Seafoods; Digby Landscaping & Maintenance; The Weir Group; Doosan Babcock; Department for International Development; Skillforce Scotland; Turner Facilities Management; Future Sales Factory; Glasgow Taxis; Mctaggart Scott; DOGFI.SH Mobile; Suntino Renewable Energy; Global Highland; Highland Council; West Dunbartonshire Council; University of Dundee; Bond Offshore Helicopters; Stagecoach; Falkirk Council; Fife Council; NHS Lanarkshire; Golden Jubilee Hospital; NHS Forth Valley.

Highland Council received an award.

Highland Council received an award from Major General Crackett as Lt Col Piers Strudwick (CO 7SCOTS) looked on.

As did Global Highland...

As did Global Highland…

And Fife Council...

And Fife Council…

And West Dunbartonshire Council.

And West Dunbartonshire Council.