University Air Squadron

Formed in 1941, the squadron’s role is to provide flying training to high calibre university undergraduates who might join the RAF or the RAuxAF.

The 14 University Air Squadrons (UAS) across the country offer undergraduates excellent flying training and the chance to experience RAF life in addition to a wide variety sports, adventure training and social activities.

The East of Scotland Universities Air Squadron (ESUAS) is based at Leuchars, Fife, and recruits from nine academic institutions in eastern Scotland: Edinburgh, Heriot-Watt, Napier, QMU, RGU, Aberdeen, St Andrews, Dundee, and Abertay.

Flying instruction includes general handling and circuits followed by more advanced skills such as stalling and spinning, aerobatics, navigation and instrument flying – flying relying solely on instruments, as used when flying through cloud or at night.

To join the UAS you must be older than 17.5 years on joining, an undergraduate attending one of the above universities, with 2 A-levels or equivalent studying for your first full-time degree with at least 3 academic terms remaining before graduation, a British National (or dependent territory) who has resided in the UK for at least the last five years and in receipt of a National Insurance number.

Reserve Forces
Royal Navy Logo Royal Marines Commando Logo Army Logo RAF Reserves Logo
Sea Cadets Logo Army Cadet Force Logo Air Cadets Logo Combined Cadet Force